The motorist of time

ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse has occupied a unique position in the watchmaking industry since 1793. Drawing inspiration from an unparalleled technical, industrial and human heritage, it has shaped its expertise (handed down over decades) to build the future. 

Today, ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse uses this unique expertise as a foundation for the ongoing development of new industrialisation technologies to create ’Swiss Made’ quartz and mechanical movements.

Its production sites, located in the foothills of Jura and the Swiss cantons of Valais and Ticino, combine the company’s full expertise in the production and assembly of movements and watches which are considered global benchmarks for their reliability and performance.

History

ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse develops and produces quartz, mechanical and Swatch watch movements. The company’s headquarters are in Grenchen (Solothurn). ETA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse is the motorist of time at the heart of the Swatch Group www.swatchgroup.com

Before becoming a single undertaking in 1985, the ETA SA brand consisted of severable ébauche factories across the whole of the Swiss Jura arc grouped together under the name Ebauches SA. This plurality allowed Ebauches SA to offer a wide range of products, as each affiliated company specialised in a particular niche (simple watches for men, chronographs, small watches for women etc.).

The group’s first ébauche workshop and business was opened in Fontainemelon (Neuchâtel) in 1793 by four master watchmakers. This date marks the founding of what is now ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse, who would continue to act as a motorist of time over the next four centuries thanks to the expertise of its employees and their mastery of watchmaking techniques.

Quality

The quality of ETA watch movements and services is held in high regard all over the world.

 

Discover ETA Quality Policy

Swiss Made
Production Centers

Contact us

The motorist of time

ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse nimmt in der Uhrenindustrie eine führende Position ein. Inspiriert von einem einzigartigen Erbe, mit unvergleichlichen technischen, industriellen und menschlichen Vorzügen, hat ETA ihr über viele Jahrzehnte erworbenes Wissen eingesetzt, um die Zukunft aktiv zu gestalten.

Heute baut die ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse auf ihrem grossen Know-how auf, um neue Industrie-Technologien zu entwickeln und Quarz- sowie mechanische Uhrwerke mit dem renommierten «Swiss Made»-Label zu entwerfen.

Die Produktionsstandorte vereinen das Wissen für Produktion und Montage. ETA steht für Uhrwerke und Uhren, die auf der ganzen Welt für ihre Zuverlässigkeit und höchste Präzision bekannt sind.

Geschichte

Die ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse entwickelt und produziert Uhrwerke für Quarz-, mechanische sowie Swatch-Uhren. Der Hauptsitz des Unternehmens befindet sich in Grenchen (SO). Die ETA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse ist der Motorist der Zeit innerhalb der Swatch Group (www.swatchgroup.com)

Bevor die ETA SA im Jahr 1985 in einem einzigen Unternehmen zusammengefasst wurde, bestand sie aus mehreren einzelnen, im ganzen Jurabogen verteilten Ebauchesfabriken unter der Leitung der Ebauches SA. Durch diese Pluralität konnte die Ebauches SA eine grosse Palette an Produkten anbieten, denn jedes angehängte Unternehmen war in einem bestimmten Bereich spezialisiert (einfache Uhren für Männer, Chronographen, kleine Uhren für Frauen usw.)

Die erste Ebauchewerkstatt des Unternehmens wurden 1793 von vier Uhrmachern in Fontainemelon (NE) eröffnet. Das Jahr1793 gilt somit als Gründungsjahr der heutigen ETA SA Manufacture Horlogère Suisse, die dank des Know-hows ihrer Mitarbeitenden und deren Expertise im Bereich Uhrentechnologie seit vier Jahrhunderten ihre Rolle als Motorist der Zeit wahrnimmt.

Qualitätspolitik

Die Qualität von Uhrwerken und Serviceleistungen der ETA findet weltweit hohe Beachtung.

Entdecken Qualitätspolitik

Swiss Made
Standorte